Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Clutch cable snapped

My clutch cable snapped today

Pissed me right off as I spent ages with a shovel digging it out from the snow on my drive and warming her up ready for a blast. Then it snapped a few miles away from home so got sod all I wanted to do today done

All is well though...sort of got tow truck out to take me home and got my m8 to fetch me a new cable after he finished work :D

I've never done a clutch cable on a valver before, so has anyone got any tips on anything to look out for while doing it & what problems I might encounter?
    Harvy told me to expect my arms to hurt, but blood, sweat, swearing and bruises are standard when doing anything to these bastard cars

Forum User
    Fisrtly, Take note of the cable routing!!! and strongly recomend only a genuine renault cable. lesser will snap.

take the lower shroud off below the wheel, aids access a bit ( i left mine off
    for ages as it kept snapping lol )

slide driver seat right back if not already and expect to be in there upside down.

first time i done it was a mission getting it through the bulk head. so i thoroughly recomend feeding a string throught the hole once the old cable is out. you may need to cut the clip thart hold it to the bulkhead.
    mine was not budging so i destroyed it with some side cutting snips.
    also when i got the cable through i left the clip unclipped and let the pedal pull it up and pop in first time u depress the clutch pedal with cable re-instated.

i cant quite remember how it goes onto the peddle mech, but i think you have to push the rachet mech round so the cable reaches.
    make sure it seats in the mech properly
    also take note that theres a small loop over the mech that the cable has to go through. i found out this out after i put it all together.

once thats all done fit the box end and check the pedal end. hopefully its stayed on the pedal!

Forum User