PDA

View Full Version : Conversion

Allan
24-03-2005, 02:30
On a scale of 10 how hard would it be to turn a none valver into a valver or a williams ???

Speaking from a mechanical view point not a body work one as the body work isnt a problem...

Just asking as i am very tempted to do it as a project, Although i am not a mechanic and know very little about car's, and would be wanting to convert a 1.4 RT depending on what i can get as a donor car i.e a cashed willy valver or possibly a r19.

How ever my dad is a mechanic of like 30 somthing years so im sure he can lend a hand...

JonnyK
24-03-2005, 10:43
it is easy enough done,
think the basic conversion including engine costs 3K at GDI and the cost for the conversion itself is the same whether you go for the 1.8 or 2.0, so naturally i went for the 2litre :lol:
goes in thursday 31st to get dropped in, cant wait! !

summeh
24-03-2005, 11:19
do it yourself, get most of the parts u need from scrappy, engine, loom, gearbox from donor car

so long as u got plenty of time on your hands (u student so np) wud be fun :) I can get u an engine crane to use

Rich
24-03-2005, 11:26
I'm currently in the process of collecting parts for a valver conversion from a 1.2 conversion and i am finding that is is easy enough to do yourself mate! the engine itself just plugs staright in, all you do is replace the rt loom for the valver loom, i chose the valver engine because i couldn't afford the williams engine as they cost a lot more i paid much less for an F7P out of an r19 with gearbox, inlet and zorst manifold than i would have for just the F7R on it's own! another handy thing is that you don't need discs on the back for the engineers report as my mate can do the reports and i spoke to him about it and he basically said the drums are just as good, just uprate the front ones, i am putting valver susp on and front discs and calipers too.