PDA

View Full Version : Rolling Roads and the fly power...?

freebone16v
19-02-2006, 12:44
i ran a rolling road yesturday an managed to get 117 bhp atw's (its a valver with a decat, full stainless system and a panel filter). There were 2 standard valvers there also which ran 105 atw's.

now i have been told 2 different things about how to work out the losses and want to see what is correct..

the first is that it is generally known as a 20% loss...which gives me a fly figure of 140.84bhp

the second is this
Guys, just a quick lesson on losses. It's not a percentage. Quite tricky to explain but if car X had 400 BHP and it made 200 BHP at the wheels the loss is 200 BHP. If this car was tuned to 1000 BHP then the loss would still be 200 BHP ie. 800BHP at the wheels.

So you need to find the result from the most stock 172/182 respectivly (I'm guessing around 135/145 but I'm no expert) then you can work out drivetrain losses.

The CTR standard will do 160 BHP at the wheels, wheras the Fly figure is 197 BHP. Thats a 37 BHP loss. Today I made 179 BHP so it's running about 216 BHP at the fly.

which working mine out the same way gives me
so if the standard factory fly figure for a valver is 137bhp and then tomS's (totally standard) ran 105 that would be a loss of 32bhp....

so i then add that to my atw's figure to 32 + 117 to make 149bhp at the fly...

can someone shed some light please..i am confused..lol

FATBOY
19-02-2006, 15:27
u aint the only one confused mate! lol since last weeks rr day at hillpower im still none the wiser! (ok i admit i was shite at maths at skool!!! too many numbers together confuse me)

freebone16v
19-02-2006, 15:49
well i can work the equations out but don't know which one it is...lol

i am pritty sure its the first equation as i think 140 bhp is more likely than 149 bhp from the mods i have got

OliS
19-02-2006, 16:55
I found this equation in another forum on the net last night, but it's just another variation of the 20% rule: