PDA

View Full Version : HELP fitting -35mm springs on a willy

Mattie
24-11-2005, 22:48
can any 1 do me a guide so i can fit these....im a novice wen it cums 2 this kind of thing and i have NO haynes manual, yes i repeat NO haynes manual :lol:

pictures would be a great help! :D

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a190/iLL_MoVeS/album%202/DSC00083.jpg

Rich
24-11-2005, 22:51
wow they look familiar :wink:

Mattie
24-11-2005, 22:55
haha ....thanks 4 the springs rich! :P

i only picked them up 2day, 1st time iv seen my m8 since he was bk from uni!

Coops
24-11-2005, 23:48
i did this on me old 1.4rt matey, can try writin u a guide next week mate if u still need!! same principle across range!!

u'll need spring compressors tho fella at least!!

Coops

Rich
25-11-2005, 00:31
nah you dont! if i get time i'll do you one mate but got so much uni work on dunno if i'll get time!

Mattie
25-11-2005, 11:55
ok guys thanks :D

id like 2 fit em asap allthough i still got other jobs 2 do on my car so i aint in no big rush, proberly be a few more weeks at least b4 i get time 2 fit em!

if u cd both do me 1 though that wud be quality! :P :D

Lunner
25-11-2005, 13:55
I've got spring compressors and a 21mm swan neck spanner if you need them, or if you pop down to mine i'll give you a hand doing them

Anders
25-11-2005, 14:11
Piece of pi$$ mate.

Firstly, just lossen the top mounts, with ring spanner whilst holding centre still with alan key.

Jack up car and remove both wheels. Don't worry about brakes or calipers.

Use 18mm socket and undo the two bolts on the lower strut/upper hub (note which way the bolts are facing) take these out and be careful of the strut catching your CV boot.

Now the strut is loose at the bottom, undo your previously loosened top mounts and then take out strut.

Now you can transfer these to a bench and swap the springs using your compressors. Both sides are EXACTLY the same, so don't fret about getting the springs wrong way round.