PDA

View Full Version : Hill power chip or just a rolling road?



Winston
05-03-2005, 18:55
Im thinking of get my car hill power chipped

But is it really worth it, revs to 6800 anyway. might just get it rolling roaded and checked over by nick and not bother with the chip.

How much is the rev limit increase Martin?

not planning on getting cams.......would it be worth getting a remap else where?

Current mods...ITG filter, P/S pump removed, Decat and Scorpion

What should I do?

big hp
05-03-2005, 19:08
Personally i'd leave it at 6800. Whats 200 or even 400 revs if it makes good power????? I could understand it if like martins it only revs to 6400. Just my opinion though.

Winston
05-03-2005, 19:38
Well thats what I was thinking, 6800rpms not that bad.

Just want to make it go faster :twisted:

Rich
05-03-2005, 19:41
either that or save the extra up for a fully mappable management system like omex or something then you can always have it mapped accordingly no matter what you change on the engine! whereas hillpower chips etc are encrypted

richy
05-03-2005, 19:47
u thought about a manifold? will help with rev limit raised abit, other then that i dont see point tbh if u not getting cams leave it as it is will be fine

Martin
05-03-2005, 20:34
Im thinking of get my car hill power chipped

But is it really worth it, revs to 6800 anyway. might just get it rolling roaded and checked over by nick and not bother with the chip.

How much is the rev limit increase Martin?

not planning on getting cams.......would it be worth getting a remap else where?

Current mods...ITG filter, P/S pump removed, Decat and Scorpion

What should I do?

Chip copied from smt6 and rev limit upped is 150 or less depending on payment method...which is pretty cheap imo. Like richy says I'd consider a manifold and full remap...should get you a few horses and some torque. How come yours and jesus' revs to 6800?? :?

northy
05-03-2005, 20:37
mine can get to 6800 if fully warmed up.

Its weird. At just under normally opperating temp its 6500 then as soon as its gets above it varies upto 6800

Im not complaining..heehee

2 live
05-03-2005, 23:14
mine was the same.sometimes it revved higher...still does it now.limits at 7100 but sometimes more like 7500

ballcrusher
06-03-2005, 11:41
mine revs to 7800 rpm and loves it just ask winston he was SHOCKED

Winston
06-03-2005, 11:56
:shock:

KingStromba
06-03-2005, 11:57
How can you tell your car loves 7800? I dont get it, am i missing something?

VIPERONE
06-03-2005, 13:31
the vicosity of oil changes once the car warms up, when its warm, the crank can turn easier in the oil....
an old sas trick is to remove half your oil... see how he botch revs then ;-0

MatBrown
06-03-2005, 17:35
the vicosity of oil changes once the car warms up, when its warm, the crank can turn easier in the oil....
an old sas trick is to remove half your oil... see how he botch revs then ;-0

Yeah, thats why there always quicker when there low on oil.
*Not Recommended*



Mat.

KingStromba
06-03-2005, 18:05
I read on the CRX forum that running the CRX on half oil can boost BHP by 10 or something crazy, due to the way the engine works.

Dont ask me how, or if its true.

ballcrusher
06-03-2005, 20:48
7800 alday long nun of that low oil crap

Martin
06-03-2005, 20:50
*fingers in ears, waiting for ballcrushers engine to go pop!* :shock:

KingStromba
06-03-2005, 20:54
Didnt someones engine explode at 7800 on a rolling road?

ballcrusher
06-03-2005, 20:55
not mine fella

KingStromba
06-03-2005, 20:59
Has it been balanced?

Martin
06-03-2005, 21:00
Didnt someones engine explode at 7800 on a rolling road?

Yep that guy off CS around 7.5k I think...

KingStromba
06-03-2005, 21:02
I darent take mine over 5000 rpm

Martin
06-03-2005, 21:04
PMSL, yeah right Stromba your newly rebuilt engine must just be coming on song at 5k.....how many miles have you put on it now?

ballcrusher
06-03-2005, 21:05
no mate but its going in to bbtunning this summer to have high boost turbo conversion trying to go for about 280 brake if poss other wise 240- 250 brake but at a cost

Martin
06-03-2005, 21:06
Won't that much power just be a very expensive way of destroying tires? Mine has grip problems and it's only got 170 bhp!!

Winston
06-03-2005, 21:08
Mine has 150bhp (guess) and has traction problems lol

Did the old willy have traction prob's Martin?

Turbo con.........Good lad Mr Crusher

KingStromba
06-03-2005, 21:11
PMSL, yeah right Stromba your newly rebuilt engine must just be coming on song at 5k.....how many miles have you put on it now?

650 now :D Went to work in it, first time for a week today. Didnt get over 3k.

ballcrusher
06-03-2005, 21:13
thats the main prob traction so i guess im gonna have some fun

Martin
06-03-2005, 21:18
Mine has 150bhp (guess) and has traction problems lol

Did the old willy have traction prob's?

Turbo con.........Good lad Mr crusher

The williams was a bit better with getting grip tbh probably because it has less mid range poke than the banana...once it got grip in first you could nail it and it'd just go...chirp going into 2nd but thats it. Unless its moist or an uneven surface obviously!

Winston
06-03-2005, 21:30
Well on my first gear is just useable in anything than completey dry conditions......We sooooo need a mini meet to compare the beasts.

KingStromba
06-03-2005, 21:38
Wheel spin? :shock:

Winston
06-03-2005, 21:48
Didnt get over 3k.

:shock: