PDA

View Full Version : Ring trip laps. Just shows how good a bad car go.

edde
29-09-2005, 20:19
I never seem to have a driving tales so here goes hopefully shows the difference between knowedge or a road and the cars ability/willing to push it goes.

Germany one way autoband (the nurburg ring). On my own I overtook a 530i (new one Uk plates) on the way out of the stright and was never seen again. Stayed dead behind a carrera 911 (new one) on the way down the foxhole the driver even braked whilst I was right behind them doing over 100 which was stupid. I didn't get far away being as its the supposed sports car.
Even with one passenger (me) and a better driver we kept with a 911 carrera in the bends and overtook a old 911 and suburu up a hill after a bend.

I'm not saying I'm a good driver but it just shows how badly some cars are driven. It did help that on some laps in the wet on the standard suspension was much better that the superstiff 911's and M3's. Its just for that reaosn that I'm not sure if I got a 172/182 I'd change the suspension it might be quicker on a track in the dry but on the ring or in the wet stock suspension is quicker.

Just to give you an idea my car ran 13 minutes fully loaded on coilovers on my first trip. A few more laps experiance and on stock suspension one up I could do under 11 minutes in the dry easily. I managed 10.44 on my own on a quiet lap with a few small holdups.

c_w
04-10-2005, 15:38
Hi, one thing the Ring needs is a powerful car as most of it is flat out and the uphill sections really need big power to get up. I managed a 8m43 in my 205Mi16; some video footage here:

http://www.98ron.com/trackdays/ring05/ring05.htm

Martin
04-10-2005, 18:10
nice vid...good bit of gt4 style grasstracking lol Any idea what the spec was on he e30?

edde
04-10-2005, 20:25