PDA

View Full Version : starter motor faults

VIPERONE
15-09-2005, 00:55
As im no expert with vehicle electrics.. i have to swallow my pride and post a assistance requisition lol.

My vehicle starter is playing up. i can place a fully charged up battery in the vehicle and then when i turn my key i just hear a clicking sound. i can turn the key 2 -10 times and hear the click.. sometimes though the starter turns and vehicle starts!. i can pull up fuel up then when i attempt to start car.... click.. keep turning key until it eventually starts!.. i have tested 2 fully charged batteries on my car with the same result.

so i have narrowed down to the following possible faults:

1) ignition block

2) earth related

3) bolloxed starter.

any assistance, testing ideas welcome :-)

cheers_ Gunner

Purple
15-09-2005, 01:03
To rule out earthing issue on the starter:

Connect a thick wire directly from the battery's negative terminal to the starter's earth or metal body. If that don't fix it; it won't be an earthing problem with the starter.

VIPERONE
15-09-2005, 01:09
As a rule of thumb, if you hear clicking but nothing else, you solenoid is working but the motor isn't. If you hear a whirr but not the engine turning, the motor works, but the solenoid isn't engaging it.

__________________________________________________ ___

i'll try that.. however i will run a feed directly to the starter + from battery +
im investing in a multi-meter to help me sort this embarrassing fault out.

cheers purple sun :-)

northy
15-09-2005, 07:41
clean your contacts up to the starter motor and lubricate with electrical conctact grease. problem soted.

Purple
15-09-2005, 08:33