PDA

View Full Version : Outside car covers- do they work?

Chris197F1
02-01-2015, 21:19
Hello again! Thinking of getting a Williams again after realising I never should have sold my previous one lol. The reason I sold it was lack of storage as I was losing my garage with the house sale so what I want to know is do car covers actually stop the arches etc from rusting?

Will have around £2500 to buy a Williams if anyone is selling.

Chris

PhilW
02-01-2015, 22:41
Hi Chris,
I'm no corrosion expert but after having looked into this subject and being in the middle of a complete strip down/rebuild I may have some knowledge that is of interest to you.
if you search this site you will see threads about garage v outdoor storage - the main enemy of metal is condensation that gets trapped in body sections and takes a long time to dry out. A damp poorly ventilated garage is a worse storage area than a car stored outside under a breathable puropse manufactured cover. Cars stored outside benefit from air circulation which helps dry out areas of moisture on a car.
The very best thing that you can do is either buy a car with zero corrosion (this may be a challenge) or properly repair an existing car (by cutting out all corroded areas) and the corrosion protecting the box sections/ inner arches etc.
I am pretty much down to the shell now and looking into the box sections there is zero corrosion protection, if these areas are protected properly before corrosion sets in and drain holes kept clear, there is no reason why these areas will rust again.
Also, dont use your car on salty winter roads, this is a time when real damage occurs.
Again, I domt claim to be an expert and somebody may shoot me down here.......I hope not,
good luck in yor search ;-)

Crossers
03-01-2015, 02:16
Chris, I knew you would regret selling the Williams, but you can only learn from your own mistakes!