PDA

View Full Version : Coolant gone :O

Christian
28-08-2005, 20:48
Someone please help a complete novice (me!)

I keep chucking more and more coolant in the expansion tank but it's always empty. I don't think its leaking from anywhere and so am guessing that something a lot worse is going to happen...

I've had someone from here tell me what is probably wrong but I'm hoping he's mistaken as I don't want it to be that bad! Is there anything I should check/do?

Ps - Does anyone want to buy it? Stunning valver, one or two careful owners, never had any problems... :wink:

Tommo
28-08-2005, 20:54
This happened to my 306 and in the end the gasket blew.... :(

Hope I'm wrong mate but it sounds like the gasket could be on the way out!

Christian
28-08-2005, 21:03
bugger! Thats what Matt said...

I guess this could get quite pricey?

Gav
28-08-2005, 21:37
best solution mate

Open your bonnet, rub you chin and get stuck in changin the gasket :D

Nah mate, open your bonnet and take the lid off your coolent canister, rub your finger round the inside of the lid top (bid actual lid screws onto) and look at your finger, if gooey shit is on your finger ITS DEFO YOUR GASKET! :cry:

Lunner
28-08-2005, 22:45
If its not noticabl;y leaking the head gasket.

Do you get white vapour out of the exhxuats when its fully warm?

Do you have a mayo liek substance around the top of the oil filler cap?

Do you have an oily film ont eh top of the coolant?

Could also be the water pump, as usually they only leak when the car is moving, well mine did, took ages to find the leak

Slithers
29-08-2005, 14:03
If its not noticabl;y leaking the head gasket.

Do you get white vapour out of the exhxuats when its fully warm?

Do you have a mayo liek substance around the top of the oil filler cap?

Do you have an oily film ont eh top of the coolant?

Could also be the water pump, as usually they only leak when the car is moving, well mine did, took ages to find the leak