PDA

View Full Version : Track day tyres?

irishandy
08-03-2012, 23:47
Hi All, Im new to track days - got my first one in a few weeks time and i'm very exsited!

I own a 1995 Clio Williams 2 which apart from an exhaust and filter is standard including the tyres.

I was thinking as I my be attending a few track days this year - would it be worth and beneficial to buy some track/road tyres such as Federal FZ-201s?

Cheers, Andrew
:)

16v_paddy
09-03-2012, 00:06
Oh hell yes! Well worth every penny, the difference they make is actually scary :twisted:

My advice is to get a spare set of wheels & buy used semi-slicks like R888's, yokohama A048's or AD08's things like that. Keep an eye out on ebay & the motorsports parts section of the classifieds on pistonheads. I just got a pair of still road legal R888's for £50 delivered on PH 8) New you're looking at at least £100 per tyre in 195/50/15

As an example, I've got it on good authority when R888's have 1mm of tread left on them, they're still good for 2 - 3 track days & that's from a guy that uses them on a volvo estate.
I bought a pair back in 2010 that were not quite road legal and I will be doing my 5th track day on them in a couple of weeks, they'll be ready for the bin afterwards tho :lol:

irishandy
09-03-2012, 00:15
Hi 16v_paddy, I thought track tyres would and should make a big difference!

how about these on ebay http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/251010896265?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649#ht_2923wt_1398

I will be keeping an eye out for some R888 or equivalent tyres over the next few days.

Is there anything else I should get for a track day?

16v_paddy
09-03-2012, 00:54
To me, they seem way too expensive for my liking, but I'm a tight git :lol: You also need to take into consideration some circuits might not let you use slicks (don't know if it applies to cut slicks though :? ) unless you've got a roll cage