PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, but Oldie , old skool Derby Renaultphile

PaulB
01-08-2011, 23:09
Good evening all,
I am a newbie to your site and was steered this way via Northy, least I could after slowing him down at Donington last week :D ..
One of the older generation and after spending 22 years working inside the Renault UK network I finally broke free to spread my wings and abuse my owncars at will :wink:
previously worked on 5GTT cup cars,
Worked on 2 Clio Cup cars when they were new ,hundreds of 5GTTurbos and many many other , also worked on a wide range of race cars from track prepped to Ex F1 cars, make your ear's bleed and heart rate rise... should be LAW..
Bit of a trackday addict so maybe see you guys about .
Keep smiling
Paul B.

cliokiz
02-08-2011, 10:08
Welcome!

Might be worth poking your nose in over at clio16valver.co.uk as well, loads of turbo and throttle body nutcases over there!

PaulB
02-08-2011, 21:05
Welcome!

Might be worth poking your nose in over at clio16valver.co.uk as well, loads of turbo and throttle body nutcases over there!

not into Efi and throttle bodies just yet,,, good old 26mm venturi carb for the WIN. :D ... but thanks for the link

Wobba
04-08-2011, 13:56
Welcome :)

northy
04-08-2011, 21:37
so u worked on cup cars, u learn something new everyday?

Can u do a small post with what info u can remember for me. I love my history.

Were u working for a team / driver - what year and cars did u prep ?

Dont worry about donny mate - my pleasure to be behind u x

PaulB
04-08-2011, 22:49
I worked for a race prep company, Zul Racing...
they run 2 cars for 2 brothers, David and Ian Shaw... approx 1992/3

we run them for 2 seasons and I remember very well indeed working hard on them, lol, same shape as you drive, turned up as road cars with a crate of "RenaultSport" bits and a photocopied booklet of what to fit where, what you are allowed to remove and what's been homologated just for race only.(race clutch, exhaust,suspension)