PDA

View Full Version : Williams as Daily Driver

jondkee
07-06-2011, 21:58
Hello - Vaguely newbie here. I signed up a couple of years ago and have a look every so often, but never got round to buying a Williams at that time. I ended up buying an Avantime instead...
I wondered if anyone used their car a a daily driver and what it's like to live with on a day-to-day basis and what real MPG people get out of them.
I currently drive a Megane dCi for work as I do about 15K a year. For various reasons I want to get rid of it. I had been thinking of a Ford Ka as they're cheap and easy to fix, but have just seen a 3 down the road from me, which has got me thinking. ( I had a 1.4RT in the past and really liked it)
Any comments would be welcome.
Thanks
Jon

Chadwick
07-06-2011, 22:33
For me - Nah. My daily drive is a new Navara. Throw all my gear in the back, pulls very well, cruises at 90 forever and a day getting 32mpg without my ears bleeding, dvd player, electric everything - Love it.

My Williams on the otherhand, I use mine for just a weekend drive. Its very loud, lots of people look down on you because you're in a old renault with gold wheels. Its harsh on the bumps. It has an addiction to being 'tweaked'.

But, Ive never driven another car that can always put such a smile on my face when you get on the twisties!

stevie_b
07-06-2011, 22:35
Welcome. Are you saying you would plan to do 15k p.a. in it? MPG is around 30 mpg, depending on use, BTW.

jondkee
07-06-2011, 22:39
I'm currently doing about 15K a year for work, yes, but would try and keep that as low as possible. I know putting too many miles on the car mightn't be too popular!
I had been thinking the MPG might be closer to the mid 30s if driven relatively carefully on mix of Mways and A roads...

tutuur
07-06-2011, 22:46
I would be happy to even get 30MPG!!!

And why not put many miles on the car? My engine has run 320k km and still runs perfect! (a little oil consumption when kickin it's ass)

Wobba