PDA

View Full Version : Wheel nut broken off

GabrielKnight
23-01-2010, 22:21
My MOT revealed that one of my wheel nuts broke off leaving the thread part of the nut stuck where it shouldn't be.

Can the thread part of the nut be removed somehow?

If not, what is the name of the part it will be stuck in (looks like a round, silver plate behind the wheel - is that the 'disk'?).

As you can tell, I'm only starting to learn anything about car mechanics so please don't flame me.

Assuming I can't get the nut out, what do I need to order and how much will it cost to re-fit? Thanks.

Wobba
23-01-2010, 23:47
My MOT revealed that one of my wheel nuts broke off leaving the thread part of the nut stuck where it shouldn't be.

Can the thread part of the nut be removed somehow?

If not, what is the name of the part it will be stuck in (looks like a round, silver plate behind the wheel - is that the 'disk'?).

As you can tell, I'm only starting to learn anything about car mechanics so please don't flame me.

Assuming I can't get the nut out, what do I need to order and how much will it cost to re-fit? Thanks.

Ok Gabriel, we know you are good at fighting werewolves and vampires...not so hot with Clio's though :D

Probably best to post stuff like this in the 'Mechanicals' section mate.

But...snapped wheel nuts are common, don't panic :) Can be easy to remove usually.

The big round plate that the bolt goes into initially IS the brake disc, yes:

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w102/barneywobba/Williams%20217/DSC01271.jpg

There is another plate behind it that the wheel bolt screws into, this is the stub axle:

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w102/barneywobba/Williams%20217/DSC009801.jpg

Depending on how the bolt snapped and how much length you have of the bolt in the hole depends on how hard this will be to remove.