PDA

View Full Version : Engine sounds knackered

grantyswilly2
17-11-2009, 14:51
Hi all, my Clio Williams 2 has 129,500 on the clock and i am looking into the costs involved with rebuilding the engine as it is sounding rather knackered!!

My understanding is that at around 130,000ish miles, these engines tend to need a lot of attention and is a good time to have them stripped and rebuilt. My engine has developed an ugly/nasty noise and i am pretty sure it is age/mileage related. I'm a novice when it comes to engines but am keen to give it a go myself.

I have owned my Williams for the past 6 years and have learned some basic mechanical knowledge (vital if you own a Williams and don't have much spare cash as you will all know). My experiences to date include replacing the clutch, alternator, steering column, brakes, exhaust system and general maintenance. Engines tho are a different matter, i am sure i can handle taking the engine out ok but am not so sure about the rebuilding stage!??

Any thoughts and ideas of costs (carrying out the labour myself) would be very appreciated... :P

Wobba
17-11-2009, 14:57
In what way does it sound knackered?

Coops
17-11-2009, 15:58
if you can get and engine out you can strip it and rebuild it mate, easy as pie really! 8) sounds to me like you have a decent amount of knowledge so i'd have no qualms about getting stuck in!

i'd be guessing it sounds tappety on cold start and maybe blowing a bit of blue on over-run?

grantyswilly2
17-11-2009, 16:31
Yeah it started a while back as a quiet tappety sound on startup, and has developed since to being noisey even when warmed up, and is more of a grindy kinda sound in the cylinder head (its 'orrible) but no smoke!

Ideally i should have taken her off the road when it began but due to lack of spare cash and having to use her to get to work and back i couldn't.