PDA

View Full Version : Insurance

Coops
17-11-2009, 12:15
so who do people find best for williams insurance? when i owned 0062 last year with 2 years NCB it was 420 fully comp

just qouted through same company for same car essentially but with another years NCB and they want £500 for same cover

whats going on????? i've not changed anything else, just got a year older and wiser and got more NCB???

is this just simply due to crap awful financial markets at the minute or what? the best i can find is £450 so thats still £30 more :shock:

Smokey McPot
17-11-2009, 12:40
I've just re-insured mine last week, having not had my own insurance policy for nearly 3 years.

I decided to play Direct Line and Churchill off against each other, as I HATE those comparison websites, and I preferred to be insured by a company I had heard of before.

I'm a named driver on about 4 other policies, and had accrued 3 year NCB on those. However DL would not honour the certificate of NCB issued by Churchill (my previous) insurers, and Churchill would not honour the named driver NCB I had accrued.

Long and the short of it was that DL wanted just over £1000, with a total excess of £300 (£150 compulsory/£150 voluntary)

Churchill wanted £547 with the same excesses and some free Greenflag breakdown cover.

The reasoning is more likely to be the cost of repairing/number of crashes in our type of cars.

I've been reading about Nissan GTR owners, someone recently had a sub 10mph crash into a tranny van with a tow bar and it cost £11k to fix. Because of things like that companies will be thinking twice about the rate at which they insure the car. I think the same maybe true in our case, but not on such a costly scale.

Coops
17-11-2009, 13:43
its the jump this this time last year that i find hard to swallow, never had insurance go up before, spose i'm just getting to that age where the saving stop :(

busterhymes
17-11-2009, 14:04