PDA

View Full Version : evening all....

jonboy21t
12-10-2009, 21:24
Hi folks, i'm a potential newbie.......

I'm looking at a Williams 3 on Saturday & just wanted a few tips regarding what to check etc......
I've owned a number of Renaults including 21 Turbos, a few 5's & a Clio Baccarra (rare manual version..bought in France) Anyway, i know to check the cooling system - fans etc & i have a basic mecanical knowledge. What do i need to look for...?? It's had a cambelt change recently & the owner assures me that both the engine & box are in A1 perfect order...

The car is a really clean '95 N plate with 115,000 on the clock, full service history, loads of receipts, paper work & documents etc, it's had 3 owners & from the pictures has no rust on the rear arches & the interior looks super clean..

So it looks like i'm gonna loose my current "hobby" car - an Impreza Turbo & head back down the French route....again.. :D

Look forward to some pointers before Saturday....

Thanks!!

busterhymes
12-10-2009, 21:44
don't its a williams 3 read my sale thread :wink: :)

http://www.williamsclio.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=37166&highlight=

hi m8 good luck, check body for rear arches, door bottoms, inside tailgate and sills, engines are fairly strong if well looked after so check service history and or receipts gearbox for poor selection noise etc make sure when cam belt was done as quite expensive to get done if you dont do it yourself. check alloys for condition and whether refurb needed can be expensive if needed pristine charge about £300 again can be done DIY cheaper. running gear suspension etc pretty much what you would check on any car worth checking track rods for play on the inboard joints and also steering column for worn flexible joint shows up as vagueness in steering easy fix to weld up. interior check all electrics/gauges work then a road test. sure plenty more comments to come :) :)

MatBrown
12-10-2009, 21:44