PDA

View Full Version : New member with Questions for the experts.

ryan_b
25-08-2009, 06:16
Firstly hello to you all. Im Ryan 27 from Ireland however currently in Australia with work for the last two years. Returning to Ireland at christmas for a few months and these little cars are appealing to me.

Now here goes the usual lol... Im a long posting member on the 205gtidrivers website and have been a passiontae owner since ii was 18 of many a good 205 Gti. They to have had their problems, loving them one minute cursing them the next. I know my way around a Gti and would class myself highly when it comes to knowing a good one from a bad one. However these cars i have no experience with.

The standard power and the factory look of the car is the appeal the williams has for me now over the Gti so im gonna fire up a few questions. All advice is taken onboard!

1. Which is a better all round model 1-2-3. I understand one to be the most collectable but which gives the owner the least headaches?

2. Ive heard many a nightmare story of gearboxes, are they that bad?

3. Rust, Rust, rust...Any tips on how to avoid it coming? I will looking out for as good a one as i can find, pref without rust.

4. Does it give you more joy than headaches? The 205 was a great little cars, parts are two a peny and they are quite reiable for the age. How would you rate the Williams in reliabity department?

5. Any pointers on what to look for, any big services due at certain miles?

I understand that all these questions have been asked before but ive searched for an hour and tryig to get them in oe post is quite hard. I appreicate the time you take to respond and i look forward to hearig from you all.

All the best, Ryan

16v_paddy
25-08-2009, 08:11
1. Which is a better all round model 1-2-3. I understand one to be the most collectable but which gives the owner the least headaches?