PDA

View Full Version : Clutch cable snapped

16v_paddy
05-02-2009, 19:18
My clutch cable snapped today :x :evil:

Pissed me right off as I spent ages with a shovel digging it out from the snow on my drive and warming her up ready for a blast. Then it snapped a few miles away from home so got sod all I wanted to do today done

All is well though...sort of :? got tow truck out to take me home and got my m8 to fetch me a new cable after he finished work :D

I've never done a clutch cable on a valver before, so has anyone got any tips on anything to look out for while doing it & what problems I might encounter?
Harvy told me to expect my arms to hurt, but blood, sweat, swearing and bruises are standard when doing anything to these bastard cars :lol:

Justin..
05-02-2009, 19:31
Fisrtly, Take note of the cable routing!!! and strongly recomend only a genuine renault cable. lesser will snap.

take the lower shroud off below the wheel, aids access a bit ( i left mine off
for ages as it kept snapping lol )

slide driver seat right back if not already and expect to be in there upside down.

first time i done it was a mission getting it through the bulk head. so i thoroughly recomend feeding a string throught the hole once the old cable is out. you may need to cut the clip thart hold it to the bulkhead.
mine was not budging so i destroyed it with some side cutting snips.
also when i got the cable through i left the clip unclipped and let the pedal pull it up and pop in first time u depress the clutch pedal with cable re-instated.

i cant quite remember how it goes onto the peddle mech, but i think you have to push the rachet mech round so the cable reaches.
make sure it seats in the mech properly
also take note that theres a small loop over the mech that the cable has to go through. i found out this out after i put it all together. #-o

once thats all done fit the box end and check the pedal end. hopefully its stayed on the pedal!

Justin..
05-02-2009, 19:32