PDA

View Full Version : Exhaust / De-cat problems MOT

harrys
20-08-2008, 17:02
Hi,

My car has a magnex exhuast and de-cat. Ive decided to get my clio back on the road after a year being garaged up. Therefore its last MOT was over 2 years ago, and was passed with the de-cat with a lot of help from my pap and lots of begging. My problem is i want the car to get back on the road but know it will fail on the MOT. Therefore i just need to know what i need to do to get the car road worthy. Hopefully with this in mind someone could answer a few of my questions.

1) Can i just buy a normal cat and fit this for the MOT?
2) Would it be easier to just get a standard exhaust fitted?

The reason i say this is because im not to keen on how loud the magnex exhaust it and just want something quieter. Therefore i gather a standard exhaust is the only way?? Im no mechanic obviously, therefore any help would be really, really appreciated! Thanks,

16v_paddy
20-08-2008, 18:31
You can put a normal cat on no problems, will quiet it down a fair bit as well. I had to do it for my MOT

white16valver
20-08-2008, 18:33
A cat should make a marked difference to noise levels!

PM MatBrown on here as he may have one :)

number1
20-08-2008, 23:10
Had to put the cat briefly back on mine recently, was whisper quiet even with a mongoose, performance gain with a decat pipe isnt really a great deal,

Dave

16v_paddy
20-08-2008, 23:14
magnex & de-cat is purely for noise and popping on demand
I love it :twisted:

LEIGH-ANNE
21-08-2008, 00:17
where u based maybe u could borrow a cat off sumone for the MOT. I'm in Southampton anyways.

I had a magnet on mine... was too loud for me. I have a scorpion backbox with decat and is a fair bit quieter tbh

Wobba
21-08-2008, 14:12
Easy job putting a cat back on assuming the 4 bolts are not seized.

Mine does pop and bang with a magnex and decat, but rarely and no way as often as my valver with the same setup.

harrys
21-08-2008, 15:39