PDA

View Full Version : Weird gearbox and Rev counter not working

greggbradenuk
10-06-2008, 12:04
I bought a clio Willaims 2 yesterday - dead chuffed with it!!

I need a bit of advice with the rev counter and gearbox. When I change from 2nd to 4th gear sometimes there is a bit of a crunch (not too bad), I'm sure the clutch is fully down - is the gearbox on the way out? If so - how much do they cost to replace?

Also the rev counter is a little shady. It ony reads 3,000rpm at a max but the engine is definitely above that - perhaps it;s sticking? Can I sort that myself (i'm no expert) or is it a case for the local garage? Again roughly how much should this be?

While i'm on the point the speedo does wobble at low speed, i've read this is a common fault though - easy to fix? This doesn't bother me that much, but the rev counter would be handy...

If I were to upgrade the front discs - where in London (or the South East) is good to do them and offer good parts.

Thanks in advance!!

Gregg

Wobba
10-06-2008, 14:08
Front discs are very easy to change tourself assuming you have basic tools to jack a car up etc and you are not going for huge discs.

Speedo cable wobble is due to the little plastic fitment in the gearbox wearing out iirc. I think renault had a fix for this using a different plastic bit, I dont know if it is something you get done for free with the recall procedures for stuff like that....

Rev counter..probably a duff dial, or its not plugged in/wired up etc...not too sure about these...may just be a case of taking dash cover off and having a poke behind the dials.

greggbradenuk
10-06-2008, 14:21
Will they really do this via a recall procedure - should I visit local renault garage?

I think the gearbox is buggered - perhaps I need to look at replacements just in case - are these difficuly to get hold of?

I'll have a look at the rev counter this weekend - is it a hard job to get the dash off?

Thanks for your help!

BRUN
10-06-2008, 18:48