PDA

View Full Version : Brakes and Advice

Jamie.
18-06-2005, 23:42
im considering getting a brake conversion as i aint impressed with the barkes on me willy 3. i somewhat believe that sponges would be more usful.
any suggestions for what make etc. dont want anything mega pricy, however as Richy will tell u im a novice when it comes to modding. can i fit em etc etc.

cheers for ya advice guys an gals

Rich
18-06-2005, 23:56
you could fit them yourself so long as you know how to bleed brakes and undo brake lines and use an angle grinder! piece of piss mate and git the wilwoods of mark well worth it as richy will tell you!

Daz
19-06-2005, 08:35
I have Brembo Max Discs and Standard pads - very impressed.

If you do want new brakes, like, completely, I'd get the 4pot Kit Mark is selling.. good price, and performs well too..

richy
19-06-2005, 09:53
yeah the wilwoods are fantastic, some amazing clamping power! def talk to mark about them if u can afford them, well worth it! 8)

Lunner
19-06-2005, 13:16
Std brakes are more then enough, just need to make sure tehy are all working 100%, and you have decvent discs and pads

POWARTEK
19-06-2005, 19:18
Really depends what ur going to use it for and what your budget is.
For fast road use u will get away with and std size upgrade till u start touching silly power, if u do liek or maybe want to try some track action id go up a size or 2.

Mark_Ritchspeed
19-06-2005, 22:44
Just remember its not the disc size that gives you the stronger brakes, but the caliper choice. :wink:

2 live
19-06-2005, 22:46
yep^^^^^^^^^^ id rather have twice the clamping force if i wanted to stop quicker....thatl be more pistons in the calipers then lol

POWARTEK
20-06-2005, 10:56
very true, but the bigger the disc the bigger the clamping area too.

KingStromba
20-06-2005, 10:58
Actually braking force could be expressed as a friction coefficient. Anything that increases friction would improve braking (and hence heat as a side effect) :wink:

Lunner