PDA

View Full Version : Difference between valver and williams lump

Matt_williams
28-03-2008, 17:55
hey ive just brought a 1.8RSi with a williams transplant, that needs some work. im plannin to do a hybrid conversion but need to raise some cash first! Anyways the bloke i brought the car off was a bit dippy to say the least lol and i just wanna check it is actually a willy lump, how can i check this for sure? it looks like a willy lump from pics ive looked at but havent seen a valver to compare. (Im new to the clios)

Any help would be great!!!!!!!

cheers
matt

16v_paddy
05-04-2008, 19:24
I'd try finding the engine number then go ask renault

Only other thing I can think of is there's some extra vanes (or something) on the block.

All the other differences are internal with nothing different between the 2 looks wise iirc

Willy lump is F7R and the valver is F7P if this helps

u33db
05-04-2008, 20:25
Aye, take the airbox off and you should see the engine plate below the inlet manifold...if it begins f7r then you've a williams lump.

The colour of the dot on the dipstick can also give it away...what is it?

u33db
05-04-2008, 20:26
and forget about asking renault...may as well ask your sofa for all they theses days!

FATBOY
05-04-2008, 20:30
Aye, take the airbox off and you should see the engine plate below the inlet manifold...if it begins f7r then you've a williams lump.

The colour of the dot on the dipstick can also give it away...what is it?

fingers crossed its white!!!!!! 8)

DaveH
05-04-2008, 23:20
Dipstick could be swapped and engine plate could be swapped. Short of opening it up and measuring valves etc the only way is the extra vanes on the block of the willy lump- im sure there was a pic floating about of these somewhere?

FATBOY
06-04-2008, 00:44
take a pic and post is the best way

u33db
06-04-2008, 11:13