PDA

View Full Version : oil leak...help?

kundi13
23-03-2008, 22:16
right got an mk1 n reg 1996 clio phase 1. done about 81k miles. its had water pump changed. spark plugs changed, new alternator belt changed, everythings working fine apart from an oil leak.

ive been to 3 garages so far and they all are saying the head gasket is gone but if the head gasket has gone i cant see any creamy white stuff anywhere in the engine cap or in the water coolant and also if it was the head gasket the water wouldve also mixed in the engine oil but the water level has been at its consistance level for months now. ive been driving the clio for almost 5 months now just been topping up the engine with oil every 2weeks it is a very slow leak.

the oil seems to be leaking on the the driver side of the engines front and dripping down to the oil sump and to the floor. But im also seeing a puddle of oil on the intake manifold which is under the carburator.

do you guys think it could be the rocker cover gasket cos im seeing a line of orange mastic peeling off from the rocker cover joint and its facing the intake manifold.

Coops
24-03-2008, 01:22
erm, there is no carburetor on a clio :lol: :?

have you checked the oil filter is tight? mine was loose and leaked down that kind of area for a bit after service a while back, nipped it up, job done.

also just replace the rocker gasket as a matter of cause, easy cheap job and nine times out of ten its the issue

kundi13
24-03-2008, 01:53
the oil filters been changed no leak there aswell. how hard is it to fit the gasket for the rocker cover and do halfords sell them?

kundi13
24-03-2008, 02:02
is it easy to change the rocker cover gasket? do i just undo the bolts or do i have to count the number of turns i do for the right amount of pressure? what kind of sand paper do i need to remove any warts and dust that i might encounter on the block and the rocker cover ? any sealant glue i should also use?

thanks.

Coops
24-03-2008, 02:18