PDA

View Full Version : Megane overhaul with headwork into valver

jwarren2k2
18-01-2007, 00:56
Hi guys,

Basically, this year im on uni placement at an engine remanufacturers in reading (Clifford Cox Engineering - www.rollingroadtune.co.uk).
I am hoping to carry out a project while im here and have the use of the facilities. I'm sure you would all do the same!

Im looking to get a megane (or williams) engine, overhaul it, do head work and put it in a valver. Bearing in mind this is going to be a cheap conversion as I'm a student with not too much cash, i intend on spending little money as i only have to pay for parts, and i can even get those cheap. I shall only be using the standard rods, pistons and valves (unless they're badly damaged in the engine i propose to buy)
Obviously all cleaning and measuring goes without saying, otherwise my plans are..

Replace piston rings, hone bores, bearings and shells, full gasket set, beed blast the valves if they're not bent, recut the valve seats to 3 angles and face valves, lap valves, gas flow the head (using flow bench), new tappets (cam followers) and cambelt + tensioners. Then paint, put back together, fit engine and remap on the RR.

I won't be able to afford cams+pullies this year, but apart from that, from the above work, are there any reccomendations of things i should/shouldn't be thinking about?

One of my concerns is this dizzy cap positioning, it has to be moved doesn't it? I take it the rest (starter and mounts etc) are the same positions as the valver/willy ones, as its essentially the same engine?

Would i get a big advantage from an aftermarket ECU (DTA or Emerald as we are dealers of them), or would i be just as well off getting my ECU remapped. If standard ECU is a good idea (baring in mind cost is key), should i use the valver (M/N reg, williams 2/3, or the megane one (would this use coil?)

What sort of power would u expect from my description?