PDA

View Full Version : Engine swap



AmDaMan
06-01-2007, 20:51
http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/1825/img3462zn0.jpg
1.4 Lump coming out.

http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/9637/img3459vh3.jpg
Getting the ECU out

http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/2184/img3460so9.jpg
Anyone fancy a good used 2nd hand radiator? :D


http://img114.imageshack.us/img114/918/img3456kn6.jpg
Donor Valver - raped.


http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/4776/img3466oh7.jpg
Aaeron (ronsvalver), working on the valver lump, the water pump, cambelt and clutch were all changed.


http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/4539/img3465dy1.jpg
Much bigger than the 1.4 in comparison.


http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/4751/img3464dn3.jpg
Aux belt off, cambelt being tensioned.


http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/4175/img3463eo0.jpg
Radiator off the valver going in.


http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/5049/img3468ss0.jpg
Dropping the valver in, this was difficult, mainly because it was so big and secondly the front panel wasn't removable so there was very little room to work in, the subframe had to be dropped on the passenger side to get the gearbox in right.


http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/8915/img3469dg7.jpg
Just got about in, and seated on it's mounts. Then we fitted the downpipe and lambda and exhaust.


http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/5010/img3473ze2.jpg
Fitting the valver loom, this was also difficult as it didn't just plug and play like intended, instead we can to fabricate another loom where it interconnects with the 1.4 loom. The valver ECU was also chipped with a limit of 7500 instead of 6250.


http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/2338/img3478kj1.jpg
Immobiliser wires causing grief.


http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/4673/img3486ix4.jpg
Brakes (R21t), driveshafts, shocks and springs on from the valver.


http://img388.imageshack.us/img388/2694/img3487vl5.jpg
Bleeding the brakes, used the master cylinder off the valver - used a lot of parts off the valver, it was only 60 as well.


http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/6564/img3488xj8.jpg
Trying to fit the aux clocks off the valver but the loom was slightly different for the 1.4 so need them from a 94+ valver, mine was a 91.


http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/9603/img3493cw7.jpg
Finished product.

This thing is great fun coming from the 1.4, the insurance just means that it goes to grp 12 which is fine (Adrian Flux). The power compared to the 1.4 is much better, it pulls hard right up to 7k RPM, not taken it to the limiter yet. The only problems it was having was a high idle which was suspected to be the ISCV.

However my fun has been cruelly cut short due to the head gasket going. We didn't change it while the engine was out (wish we had now) and that is going to cost 400+ great. This was suspect as soon as the engine was going, as the water was boiling even though engine temps were fine, ahh well, live and learn.

I think it's definitely worth the cost though as it's a fun little car now, fast enough for me at the moment too. Just a shame about the HG (got a payen one to go on, but i cba to do the work). So yeah big thanks to Aaeron as he did most of the work and traveled quite far to help out every day for a week!

wavy
06-01-2007, 21:11
well done guys looks like hard work with the front panel and rad in before the engine
pity about the clocks n h/g going tho

Nick16v
06-01-2007, 21:37
I recently just did the 16v conversion to my 1.4 clio, as u sed, so much more powerful and fun. The only problem i had was that my gearbox went a day after having it, someone off the site sed it was a fine working gearbox, obviously not.... Im gunna have to pay about 800 for a williams box which is nice :roll: Should hopefully have some of my conversion pics up soon wen the guy that did the conversion sends me them.

wavy
06-01-2007, 22:00
I recently just did the 16v conversion to my 1.4 clio, as u sed, so much more powerful and fun. The only problem i had was that my gearbox went a day after having it, someone off the site sed it was a fine working gearbox, obviously not.... Im gunna have to pay about 800 for a williams box which is nice :roll: Should hopefully have some of my conversion pics up soon wen the guy that did the conversion sends me them.

why dont u put a valver box on it

Laine_16v
06-01-2007, 22:12
Is that Aaron working there, i recognise that face?

Matty86
06-01-2007, 22:44
"Aaeron (ronsvalver), working on the valver lump, the water pump, cambelt and clutch were all changed. "

:D

well done mate! been watching this one for a while now :D enjoy ;)

Laine_16v
06-01-2007, 22:58
Aye he does work hard that Aaron, changed the gearbox on Chris's valver did a cracking job on that!

AmDaMan
06-01-2007, 23:36
yup, he's a good lad. Knows what he's doing and doesn't stop until it's done!!

Nick16v
07-01-2007, 02:00
I recently just did the 16v conversion to my 1.4 clio, as u sed, so much more powerful and fun. The only problem i had was that my gearbox went a day after having it, someone off the site sed it was a fine working gearbox, obviously not.... Im gunna have to pay about 800 for a williams box which is nice :roll: Should hopefully have some of my conversion pics up soon wen the guy that did the conversion sends me them.

why dont u put a valver box on it

I want a box thats gunna last.

DaveH
07-01-2007, 15:10
standard valver lumps rev to over 7000rpm anyway, 7300rpm iirc and 7800rpm when chipped. you sure its chipped?

Gutted for you about the hg but at least you'll have the go to match the show when its finished!

AmDaMan
07-01-2007, 19:00
I opened up the ecu and there was a superchip in it, bloke i bought it off said 7500, so erm i dunno! :oops:

I havn't took it past 7000 yet anyways. When do they make peak power usually?

Matty86
07-01-2007, 19:56
thought they were limited to 7000?

on the dyno mine peaked at 6970 :p, and thats probably because he lifted off before the limiter :p

DaveH
07-01-2007, 20:16
most engines tend to produce peak power a fair bit before the red line then tail off a bit, im unsure of the exact peak power rpm on f7p but i would imagine that its fairly close to matty86's.

Im fairly sure the actually rev limit is 7300 rpm tho, and i have seen over that on my rev counter (standard engine) but thats not to say that the counter is not slightly out. Stan would tell you better about peak power and when its produced.

AmDaMan
09-01-2007, 14:22
very bad news folks, my block had a crack in it at the back, at the core plug or something, you could see where it was leaking stuff out :( He said It was most probably like this when I put the engine in :(

Not sure what to do now. I might buy that megane block in the for sale if it's still available but will it go straight on to the 1.8 head, gearbox and ecu/loom?

Rich
09-01-2007, 14:36
no you need to change the ecu, flywheel and iirc the megane b/e has an extra tensioner so cambelt needs doing again.

the b/e at 150 has gone already mate, but there is another one available at 125 a bit further down ;)

Danlp6
09-01-2007, 14:50
20 for a good valver block from me.

AmDaMan
09-01-2007, 15:08
how many miles has it done? How would I get it to sheffield?

rich i thought you could use the 1.8 ecu? Flywheel?

Rich
09-01-2007, 15:13
1.8 ecu it will run like shit mate. yeah you need to change it to the valver flywheel for the tdc sensor iirc i know you deffo have to change the flywheel though

Danlp6
09-01-2007, 16:01
I can get it couriered, its done 80k.

AmDaMan
09-01-2007, 16:46
I might go for your block then but I need to know it's spot on as I just can't take it breaking that soon again, as it's was too frustrating!! What do the bores, pistons look like etc, any noises when it was running? Why did you take it off?

If I get the 1.8 block I might send the head off to Stan to get it ported, can he make the flow in the manifold better too, and the TB butterflies? Bet it's not cheap though :(

Danlp6
09-01-2007, 17:29
its just the block mate.

I removed it as i wanted the crank. no marks on the bores, ran mint in the car.

Clio_GTT
09-01-2007, 18:40
Is it a bad crack ? Can't u just araldite it up ? "jim'll bodge it for you"

AmDaMan
10-01-2007, 14:27
it's not a bad crack but either way i don't fancy sealing it ha ha.

http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/4815/img3497wk9.jpg

Least one set of valves are clean ;)

http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/8612/img3496hj9.jpg

Crack in the back of the block.

http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/2295/img3495is4.jpg

Clean Piston!

How hard is it to put the head back on? All my timing gear have the white marks on them for the cambelt but i'm sure it's not that easy?

AmDaMan
15-01-2007, 20:43
Just been dismantling the head ready for the skim, and I think I found the source of the high idle :eek:

http://img390.imageshack.us/img390/4158/img3511kt7.jpg

The exhaust manifold was putting up a fight in coming off so left it for now.

http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/4171/img3512zu1.jpg

The megane bottom end should be here tonight so I'll post pics when it's here. What's involved in putting the timing gear back on? There are some marks on the cam gears but if they have been off is the timing going to need to be professionally sorted?

DaveH
15-01-2007, 20:59
Cam sprockets should only go on in one position due to the cut-out in them, once fitted and tight they both want turning so that the marks face roughly upwards, once head is fitted to b/e put the cam cover on and the two marks on the pullies should be lined up with the two marks on the side of the cam cover.

That engine looks very poorly btw!!

DaveH
15-01-2007, 21:04
Sorry forgot to add as long as the b/e is aligned and the cams are in line with the cam cover then the two white marks on the belt should match the marks, note that this is just for setting up though and once you turn the engine the marks on the belt will have moved. It is as simple as you thought!!

MAXIBOY
15-01-2007, 21:50
with the bracket on it difficult to tell but it looks like that could just be a leaking core plug and not a crack. they leak and sometimes rust though. remove the bracket and get more pictures

AmDaMan
16-01-2007, 00:45
cheers Dave.

will do Maxiboy, he pointed out the crack though, i'll get better pics when it's out. I thought the core plugs were copper?

The block didn't make it to me tonight as Bass's car didn't make the trip and had to be RAC'd home, hope it's ok :?

MAXIBOY
16-01-2007, 00:47
core plugs are usually steel and if the blocks frozen or been left without water can damage quite quickly

DaveH
16-01-2007, 19:59
Bass doesnt have the best of luck with cars does he?

AmDaMan
16-01-2007, 20:42
not sure mate, what's his track record? lol.

DaveH
16-01-2007, 20:45
i believe he's had an engine go and also a fire not too long ago? Could be thinking about somebody else though!

Laine_16v
16-01-2007, 20:53
Spun a bearing on his new F7R only a few days after getting it.

AmDaMan
16-01-2007, 21:11
jesus, doesn't sound too good!! I have bad luck already I hope he doesn't give me more ha ha.

How did he spin a bearing? Did it have low oil?

http://img76.imageshack.us/img76/660/img3517nq2.jpg
pic of manifold, sanded it a bit today.

http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/2452/img3524es7.jpg
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/4291/img3519po4.jpg

Is it possible to get that crap out of the manifold as i'm sure it would flow a lot better!

Matty86
16-01-2007, 21:12
i believe he's had an engine go and also a fire not too long ago? Could be thinking about somebody else though!

pah, my old RT caught fire! (oil on hot exhaust manifold)

still kept on going :D

Laine_16v
16-01-2007, 21:13
Yeah he didnt top the oil up i believe.

bass_direct
17-01-2007, 14:42
low oil and 140mph lol

i didn't have a fire, than was a myth lol, although the alternator blew up and smoke every where lol..

my gearbox has gone on the red one, so awaiting new one to be fitted.

AmDaMan
18-01-2007, 20:40
http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/6558/img3545cs2.jpg

freshly skimmed.

http://img349.imageshack.us/img349/2730/img3542sh8.jpg

Inlet chemically washed.

http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/4892/img3547ky1.jpg

http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/584/img3548dz7.jpg

Whats that black thing? I took it off but it looks adjustable!

Just waiting for my bottom end now :D

MAXIBOY
18-01-2007, 20:50
rotor arm and dizzy as such

AmDaMan
18-01-2007, 20:59
ok, so does it matter how I put it back?

MAXIBOY
18-01-2007, 21:31
will need timming

AmDaMan
23-01-2007, 00:00
Been told the timing is done via the crank angle sensor.. anyways pics!

http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/2696/img35645hb.jpg
marks still on bores

http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/1287/img35654fx.jpg
whats that red wire for?

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/7164/img35660jz.jpg
where do the oil cooler pipes go?

http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/9968/img35678kd.jpg
can I take the 1.8 waterpump off and put it on this?

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/9085/img35685za.jpg
only damage I can see!


Right so I just need to change the flywheel?
Should you use gasket paste for the head?
This engine was a cambelt failiure, will this mess the timing up? Will there be white mark on the timing cog on this lump like the 1.8?

Is there anything else I need to know before I put it together? Cheers!

Coops
23-01-2007, 00:37
once head n block are mated, crank pulley and cam pulley marks can be lined up with marks on timing belt, this will time the engine up and only goes on one way. after that the dizzy will only fit one way aswell.

AmDaMan
25-01-2007, 18:05
http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/4672/img35895hj.jpg
engine out again!

http://img179.imageshack.us/img179/1313/img35902ej.jpg
Omg, looks like it was just leaking from the coreplug.. no crack at all from what I can see! Oh well 450 for a new HG at the garage or 300 for an engine.

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/7103/img35912bc.jpg

http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/2600/img35929qx.jpg

What's the best way of getting the crank bolt out as my impact wrench snapped it's self? or should I might just buy another tomorrow :P

Rich
25-01-2007, 18:07
told you that guys say something like that when they dont have a clue! ferarri specialist my arse! :lol:

MAXIBOY
25-01-2007, 22:12
thought that might be the case. anyway at least you can sell it on now

AmDaMan
28-01-2007, 18:20
some update pics:

http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/6121/img3602nn9.jpg
raped 1.8 block

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/6194/img3603ak3.jpg

http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/4940/img3601vn6.jpg

http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/7804/img3600aw8.jpg

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/7298/img3599vu8.jpg

AmDaMan
28-01-2007, 18:21
Ok, been doing a bit of chopping today because Hellfords got me the wrong aux belt so I'm gona wait untill I have that before I drop the engine in.

Took the front bar off the valver and chopped it up a bit, for 2 reasons, 1) because the one off the valver was a bit bent at one side as it came off the donor valver and 2) it also had a bent hinge.

Anyway chopped it all up and I can already tell the engine will go in a lot easier (it was a nightmare before!).

http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/9909/img3605rg2.jpg

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7599/img3606rf5.jpg

http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/7121/img3611tj5.jpg

http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/892/img3612si3.jpg

http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/2292/img3614or2.jpg

AmDaMan
30-01-2007, 23:37
http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/6989/img3625tz6.jpg
Fitting inlet, had to take off all the alternator, and PAS bracket to fit one of the nuts!

http://img265.imageshack.us/img265/2467/img3626rb1.jpg
Being lowered in, so much easier with that front bar chopped away

http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/2151/img3627gn2.jpg

http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/2494/img3628vw7.jpg
Just about seated in

http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/3791/img3629dl5.jpg

http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/9953/img3630cm9.jpg

Need to reconnect all the wiring and some pipes tomorrow. Had a problem with the injector o rings- anyone know where you can get them, not even renault do them as you have to buy the injectors at 70 :o

Also what pipes connect to the inlet on the right hand side? Looks like 2 small vacuum hoses.

Coops
30-01-2007, 23:49
o ring q answered on clio16valver

vacuum is for map sensor and part of breather system that runs to charcoal canister iirc

AmDaMan
01-02-2007, 17:26
tried to start it, nothing, just a click.

Turned it by hand it tried to turn over then stopped and it sounds like it was hitting something. Took the starter out and it's not turning by hand, not got a clue at all.

clowo16v
01-02-2007, 18:51
That doesn't sound good. Has it dropped a valve?

Matt

stan
01-02-2007, 19:05
cam timing ok?

AmDaMan
01-02-2007, 19:15
not sure if it has dropped a valve, but don't see why it should?

The timing was ok stan, I made sure the marks were all aligned, and turned it over by hand about 7-10 times and the marks went back as they should, without any odd sounds.

Thinking back though after I put the gearbox on I couldn't turn it over using the crank bolt anymore, so I assumed it was in hear or something which is why I couldn't do it, If I have put something back wrong would this cause the symptoms?

AmDaMan
01-02-2007, 19:18
hear = gear *

Also I can't seem to select reverse now so something is definitely not right!

Rich
01-02-2007, 19:20
take the plugs back out and try turning it over. by hand

AmDaMan
01-02-2007, 19:24
tried, didn't do anything. :? It definitely feels like something is physically stopping it.

Couldn't even push the car back :/

DaveH
01-02-2007, 20:34
Does the engine turn back the wrong way? i.e. can you turn it back freely and then forward it hits again?

Also is the gearbox mounted properly, if the linkage is set completely wrong it can leave it in gear all the time stopping you turning the engine/pushing the car, would also explain why it wont go in reverse, make sure its defo in neutral!

stan
01-02-2007, 22:53
the engine would turn when u push the car if it was in gear...

AmDaMan
01-02-2007, 23:01
tried pushing the car and it wouldn't budge... it was in neutral aswell :? Something isn't making sense.. Could I have put the clutch plate on wrong or anything like that that would cause something to jam?

cliolord
03-02-2007, 19:18
Alright....Looking back at some pictures of the timing belt on, it doesnt look like its tensioned. Did you tension the belt after timing it up and did you take the timing pin out of the block (the gearbox side of engine below inlet)? Sounds like something is hitting :(

DaveH
03-02-2007, 19:45
the engine would turn when u push the car if it was in gear...

Theoretically yes but ive struggled to push cars before that are in gear, that is to say got enough force behind it to manage to get the car moving to force the engine into turning over.

Also if thats not the problem he should still be able to push the car with the timing pin in the block if its in neutral?

cliolord
03-02-2007, 21:19
yes if it's in neutral it should still be pushable :lol: drive is cut off in the transmission and wont reach the input shaft

DaveH
03-02-2007, 21:28
yes if it's in neutral it should still be pushable :lol: drive is cut off in the transmission and wont reach the input shaft

Yes i understand how it works :wink: Sorry what i meant was that you mentioned that he might not have been able to move the car because the timing pin may still be in the block but he had previously mentioned that it was in neutral. i now realise that you were talking purely about the engine not turning over not the fact that he cant push the car... my bad :oops:

cliokiz
03-02-2007, 22:38
I think it will only go back on one way won't it?

cliokiz
03-02-2007, 22:48
Sorry, ignore my comment, i didn't realise there was a second page :oops:

Coops
04-02-2007, 00:20
update, it flies! :twisted: :wink:

Rich
04-02-2007, 01:08
lol what was up with it?

DaveH
04-02-2007, 01:08
Wahay well done! What was the crack then?

Coops
04-02-2007, 01:12
some muppet decided to ignore 'flywheel this side' label on clutch :roll: :P

I joke Ad mate, had a top day gettin her runnin, hows is she?bedding in nice and hope ur missus wasnt too pissed off u were 3 hours late! :lol: :lol:

DaveH
04-02-2007, 01:28
Lol :oops: Glad youve got it sorted anyway mate, thats the main thing, must have been a while without a car now pal, also bet it flies with that bottom end in there?

bass_direct
04-02-2007, 03:29
i've supplied 3 engines up north now and they've all been super quick lol

AmDaMan
04-02-2007, 11:05
lol, yeah i'm a silly boy, the clutch springs was fouling the flywheel bolts! oops. I'll never do that again ha ha.

Coops popped round just as I managed to get the box off, so he helped me 'till it was done! Cheers dude. Couldn't txt back either because my phone is playing up, think there is coolant on it haha. Then again coops swalled quite dangerous amounts of coolant and box oil LOL.

It's smoking a bit (white) but it's getting less and less the more it's run so I presume it's the crap from the old HG failure, it's not loosing coolant or getting hot at all (doesn't shift from the middle) and it seems to be idling well too, and the gearbox is stupidly smooth! The idle issue I think was a mixture of the inlet gasket, HG and injector seals :o

Anyways some pics;


http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/4691/img3640gf1.jpg
box finally off!

http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/796/img3641rj6.jpg
silly me

http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/6434/img3642gn3.jpg
marks on flywheel bolts.

http://img158.imageshack.us/img158/2734/img3643sg8.jpg
having a silly kit has it's upsides :lol:

http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/6162/img3644lw9.jpg
coops taking one for the team ha ha.

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/7328/img3646zy1.jpg
:)

DaveH
04-02-2007, 14:02
Bass bringing the power to the north i like it! You know who to see the next time you get hold of a willy engine and box dont you :wink:

bass_direct
04-02-2007, 17:55
hehe, *adds name to the list*

hows it running am? quick?

jay s
04-02-2007, 18:20
Bass bringing the power to the north i like it! You know who to see the next time you get hold of a willy engine and box dont you :wink:

its a shame he can't keep one of these fast engines for himself, he always ends up with the slow ones :lol:

bass_direct
04-02-2007, 18:39
lol yeah slow or broken

AmDaMan
04-02-2007, 19:21
hey up, yeah it's running good bass!! Got a decat lined up and a remap then who knows :D, it's bloody quick though as it is!

FincH
13-02-2007, 17:35
So you finaly got F7 Power.

Nice on dude.

So it's got a Meggy BE now?

Laine_16v
13-02-2007, 17:46
So you finaly got F7 Power.

Nice on dude.

So it's got a Meggy BE now?

Have you not read this thread at all? :lol:

FincH
13-02-2007, 17:53
Yeah I did but was taking more notice of the pretty pictures.

Laine_16v
13-02-2007, 17:59
Did you not notice the pretty picture of an engine with "F7R" stamped on the back of it in white? :lol: