PDA

View Full Version : Begin the stupid questions!!!

rob16v
20-10-2006, 00:43
Ok time to start fixing things and as i'm new to this stuff daft questions will also be asked!

Firstly The suspesnsion on my car is waaay too low. I'm looking to use this as a road car and it scrapes off everything and the edinburgh speed bumps are a nightmare.

The rear torsion bar seems straight forward enough and I'll have the help of a renault mechanic on that one. However I'm not sure how to adjust the front coilovers. I was told they were adjustable for ride height. They are a gaz kit. I can put up a pic if this would help.

Also the strut tops are too slack and can be moved by hand (not good lol). If i tighten these from the top will the shock not just spin round? If so how do i remedy this problem?

Any help would be great

BristolSam16v
20-10-2006, 08:17
Not sure about adjusting the coilovers, but when you say the strut tops are slack, do you mean you can open the bonnet and just grip them by hand and turn them :S

To tighten them you need to use an allen key and a swan neck spanner!

PS never had coilovers so may be different for yours :S

rob16v
20-10-2006, 09:47
yeh u can twst the strut tops around by hand :?

BristolSam16v
20-10-2006, 10:17
yeh u can twst the strut tops around by hand :?

haha woops I've never tried :oops:

stew
20-10-2006, 10:38
rob16v - u at heriot watt? if so which year? i think i mite know who u are.

ur top mounts will / should tighten up with either allen key/socket in the middle, and 21mm swan neck spanner. use the allen key to hold the middle, while tightening the mount with the spanner.

i dont have my clio in edin anymore as there are just too many speedbumps for a slammed track car with a side exit exhaust.

torsion bar is a peice off piss - unless it seized. i would offer to help, but im really busy the next months leading up to xmas.

rob16v
20-10-2006, 10:40