PDA

View Full Version : Valver insurance at 18

donsrno1
10-06-2006, 00:32
I'm needing to get the cheapest insurance possible for a valver. I was getting good quotes with elephant, admiral and bell before I bought the 16v but now the prices have jumped up by around £200 since then.

What insurance companies would you suggest I try other than those mentioned above?

The quotes I am getting are £1150 TPFT which isn't too bad I suppose, but I was hoping to get cheaper as it was cheaper when I bought the car. The thing with insurance at the rate above is that it would mean over 25% of my income was going on car insurance (I'm just a student) and I'm in two minds about it.

Also, when they offer monthly payments what sort of interest is charged over and above that, i.e. how much would I be paying a month for the above quote.

Thanks.

EDIT: I know this has been asked loads before, but from a quick search I couldn't really find any good suggestions other than those I mentioned.

Plattsy
10-06-2006, 00:57
I was payin 1550 on a N Reg Hybrid at 19 valued at 2600

With elephant.co.uk
that was with no points and 1 yrs no claims

donsrno1
10-06-2006, 01:07
that's the other thing I should say, I've got no no claims bonus. I know the quotes I'm getting are still good, bu I would like to find cheaper somewhere.

I remember hearing in the past that although they are the same company you can play admiral, bell, and elephant off against each other to get some discount from you quote - has anyone tried that and if so how much did you get off?

gtbloke
10-06-2006, 08:19
try these www.screentrade.co.uk

MAXIBOY
10-06-2006, 09:13
also try looking on clio sport at green light think they had some sort of club discount scheme going on. p.s. we could do with the same thing here. maybe a discount scheme though adrian flux.

stew
10-06-2006, 10:13
green light you must be over 21 iirc.

im with adrian flux - only folk who would insure me...