PDA

View Full Version : How long to fit a new G-box?

Danny-ACE!
03-06-2006, 00:50
How long am I looking at to take mine out and stick a new one in? I have never done it before. I have a haynes manual for reference.

Should I take it out from the top like it suggests or from the bottom?

Daz.
03-06-2006, 00:53
oooo a new thread to post on!

hold on what was the question?

Danny-ACE!
03-06-2006, 00:55

:?

Coops
03-06-2006, 00:55
massive divide on this, some people drop subframe, some people wiggle it out the top, either way its a tough job if u want to leave the engine in. rekon if i did it i'd call it a weeks job and take the whole chuffin engine out n do the clutch at the same time! :wink:

Danny-ACE!
03-06-2006, 00:57
The reason I have to change the box is because some knobber fooked it when changing the clutch. You might have read my thread on the engine mounts? Clutch has done about 300miles. I dont need a new one. Just take the clutch off old one. Pop it on the new one and put it back in.

Coops
03-06-2006, 00:58
oh sounds so easy! issue tends to be that there aint quite enuf space to wiggle the box off over the clutch with the engine in, so its gonna be a struggle, likely thats why they ****ed ur box, they not liable then surely if they damage your car whilst its under contract for work they are doing?!

Daz.
03-06-2006, 00:59

:?

Sorry i'm just incredibly knackered but bored at the same time!!

As Coops said hes a legend don't you know :wink:

Danny-ACE!
03-06-2006, 01:00
oh sounds so easy! issue tends to be that there aint quite enuf space to wiggle the box off over the clutch with the engine in, so its gonna be a struggle, likely thats why they f**ked ur box, they not liable then surely if they damage your car whilst its under contract for work they are doing?!

I bought it and then it happened. The guy I bought it off isnt prepared to get it fixed therefore leaving me with the bill. DICKHEAD!

Coops
03-06-2006, 01:02