PDA

View Full Version : Cracked my sump today!

Coops
18-04-2006, 19:29
theres the thanks you get from a french car for treatin it to new tyres!f**king thing! :evil:

thankfully its a small hairline fracture and am not loosing much oil, i;ve had a look tonight and after speakin to gunnergibb n my missus dad i have a masterplan! so far i've used a little ball peening hammer to reshape the alloy either side of the crack and sealed it temporarily. this has reduced the leak to a tiny seep from an area i cant get the hammer into cuz of the shape of the sump. on gibbos advice am gonna drain the sump, clean it up and chemical weld it at the weekend and hopefully that shud hold it!

if none of this works, watch this space......cough....perfect...excuse...sneeze....m egane......sniff....b/e...

MAXIBOY
18-04-2006, 19:44
and a sump guard. :twisted:

Coops
18-04-2006, 19:47
was talkin to gibbo bout that, can u still buy em or is it fabrication time? 8)

Anders
18-04-2006, 19:48
Can you not braze it?

Only need a little heat and a brazing rod.

Coops
18-04-2006, 19:50
cud do, but i got the chemical shite now and tbh i have no idea what brazing is, am strugglin to be a budding mechanic, let alone a fabrication engineer!! :P

MAXIBOY
18-04-2006, 19:53
not sure renault use to list them though. think i will lock on demon tweeks now

MAXIBOY
18-04-2006, 20:03
demon tweeks sell omp guards. have e mailed to see if they do one for the clio

Coops
18-04-2006, 21:30
cheers matey! :wink:

my weak ass sump will need a shield now, its not leaking anymore tho 8) , amazing what a good pounding.........with a hammer can do! :P

Winston
19-04-2006, 01:59
Ive cracked mine too ........how you crack yours?

northy
19-04-2006, 07:41
sump guards are still avalaible from demon tweeks.

Twincam
19-04-2006, 07:47
Chemical welding it will be fine, i cracked one on my 19

never leaked and it was fine for over a year before i could be bothered to change it